Orrick Advises Chinese Estun Group and CRCI on Acquisition of German Welding and Robotics Company Cloos


Deutsch: Orrick berät die chinesische Estun-Gruppe und CRCI bei der Übernahme des deutschen Schweiß- und Robotik-Unternehmens Cloos
简体中文: 奥睿协助中国埃斯顿集团与崇德投资收购德国焊接机器人公司——克鲁斯集团

Orrick has advised Estun Automation and China Renaissance Capital Investment (CRCI) on the acquisition of Carl Cloos Schweißtechnik GmbH, a German market leader in welding technology and robotics.

The transaction secures and stabilizes the growth of Cloos, especially in China, the world’s largest and fastest-growing robotics market. Estun Group will benefit from Cloos’ advanced technology and well-established brand to develop itself as a world leading and innovative robotics company.

Estun Group has been incorporated in 1993 and is listed on the Shenzhen Stock Exchange. It is a world leading supplier of drive systems and has expanded its business activities to include industrial robotics. Estun develops and produces a broad product portfolio for the automation of a wide variety of production processes. This includes drive electronics and servo motors as well as industrial robots and ranges from motion control controls to “turnkey” automatic production lines.

CRCI, founded in 2005, with headquarters in Hong Kong, focuses on C2W©, China to World, and W2C©, World to China, opportunities employing a collaborative buyout model to enable Chinese strategic partners to upgrade market capability and non-Chinese partners to expedite the growth of their Chinese franchises.

Cloos Group, founded in 1919 and headquartered in Haiger of Germany, develops, manufactures and delivers innovative robotic welding solutions to more than 40 countries worldwide. Cloos has 11 subsidiaries and nine production premises in Germany, China, India, UK, Hungary, Austria and North America.

Estun Group and CRCI were advised by an Orrick team led by Wilhelm Nolting-Hauff and Hang Xu. They were supported by Christine Kaniak, Jeffrey Sun, Stefan Schultes-Schnitzlein, Till Steinvorth, André Zimmermann, Felix Schäfer, Julius Schradin, Vanessa Sousa Höhl, Onur Öztürk and Robert Weinhold.