王翔 (Xiang Wang)

合伙人

北京, 纽约

王翔博士是奥睿律师事务所的全球顾问委员会联席主席,以及亚洲管理合伙人和中国知识产权业务部主管,常驻奥睿上海、纽约和北京办事处,现任北京办事处管理合伙人。

王博士拥有为国内外跨国企业就其在美国、中国和亚洲的知识产权事宜提供全方位法律服务之丰富经验,包括与知识产权相关的诉讼与仲裁、专利侵权、根据美国国际贸易委员会(ITC)337条款进行的调查、美国专利商标局程序(包括多方复审程序)、知识产权尽职调查与专利库建立咨询、工业间谍、商业秘密盗用、大规模侵权与产品责任、证券诉讼、《反海外腐败法》、《外国人侵权法》以及《反勒索及受贿组织法》相关的调查与合规事宜。 这些事宜涉及众多技术领域,从软件与电子、可再生能源与医疗设备,乃至农业和建筑材料,此处仅举几例,不一而足。王博士亦为中国和国际客户广泛处理网络安全和数据隐私事宜。

王博士经常处理与中国国有企业相关的美国诉讼事宜。他对客户的业务需求和政治风险具有深入了解,使得客户常常向其寻求具战略性和创新性的法律建议,并赞扬其“了解中国法律体系的环境,能提供细致入微的法律建议”。

王博士是大中华地区最优秀的知识产权律师之一,并且他是极少数同时拥有电子与计算机工程专业博士学位、中国法律进修文凭,以及在纽约州、印第安纳州和美国专利与商标局拥有律师资格的知识产权律师。由于奥睿的中国知识产权团队成功解决了大量涉及在美国和中国发生的涉及中、外资企业的专利纠纷,中国中央电视台在其摄制的“专利大战”纪录片中独家报道了奥睿的知识产权团队。

在成为律师以前,王博士拥有超过10年于医疗和电子设备行业工作的丰富经验,因能为客户提供实用的法律意见而备受赞誉。此外,王博士还以个人名义荣获四项美国医疗技术专利。

  • 王博士曾担任美国一家医疗技术顾问公司的亚洲业务董事总经理;美国一家医疗设备制造商的高级顾问和科学顾问委员会成员;美国一家医疗设备制造商的研发部门执行董事;美国某一大型医院外科部的医疗研究主任;美国两家大型医疗设备制造商的软件工程师和系统分析师;以及在北京担任中日友好医院的生物医学工程师。

    王博士致力就影响企业在美国和中国开展业务的知识产权法律、法规和跨境关系的发展与改进提供协助与指导,成绩备受认可。此外,他曾在上海担任美国商会的知识产权委员会副主席和中国药品研发行业委员会的顾问律师。王博士还曾在位于宾夕法尼亚州费城的爵硕大学(Drexel University)担任电子与生物医学工程系副教授,现任该校的生物医学工程、科学与健康系统学院行政顾问委员会成员。

    除了拥有纽约和美国专利商标局执业资格以外,王博士还是一名印第安纳州律师(非执业)。

    • 成功为国有企业安泰科技与另外四家应诉人公司在美国国际贸易委员会的一起商业秘密盗用案件中进行辩护。在事实证据开示关门前,原告方在应诉人没有做出任何让步或达成和解协议的情况下提出动议,要求终止调查。
    • 成功为中国建筑材料集团在美国路易斯安那州东区地方法院面对的总额达15亿美元的集体诉讼案中进行辩护,并根据《外国主权豁免法》成功驳回被控生产次等石膏墙板的索赔。
    • 中国石油化工股份有限公司进行辩护,以撤销其被指控非法监禁、侵占资产和违反《反勒索及受贿组织法》而遭索赔51.7亿美元及三倍和惩罚性赔偿的美国诉讼案件。
    • 成功协助中国原子能研究院在美国抗诉一起指责因中国原子能研究院制造之产品的侵权案件。
    • 成功代表微软在一系列由中国专利钓饵公司提起的专利侵权诉讼中进行辩护。该中国公司宣称微软某些产品侵犯其某些中国发明专利。
    • 持续为美光科技应用材料斯伦贝榭(Schlumberger)佳能以及松下电器等跨国企业就与中国知识产权相关的事宜提供咨询。
    • 成功为宸鸿光电科技在中国专利复审委员会进行的一系列专利无效诉讼中进行辩护,并协助处理其在全球的专利组合创建、申请和管理事宜。
    • 成功为北京大北农科技集团股份有限公司的几位主要高管在美国爱荷华州南区法院审理的一起工业间谍案中进行辩护,并取得了很好的结果。
    • 成功为中国石化润滑油公司在美国伊利诺伊州北区法院审理的一起《电话消费者保护法案》(TCPA)诉讼中进行辩护。
    • 成功为德昌电机在洛杉矶高等法院审理的一起非法致死产品责任诉讼中进行辩护。
    • 成功为百度在一宗由专利流氓在美国加利福尼亚中区联邦地区法院提起的诉讼中进行辩护。
    • 成功为海尔海信在美国地区法院针对专利流氓进行辩护。
    • 代表广西柳工重型机械集团处理与一家美国竞争对手公司之间的商业外观争议。
    • 成功为京东方集团在美国麻省联邦地区法院审理的一起专利流氓侵权案件中进行辩护。
    • 成功协助多个中国被告在美国国际贸易委员会337条款案件中进行辩护,为其未来在美国的业务运营奠定基础。
    • 协助众多跨国企业(包括但不限于微软持续联系结算银行(CLS Bank)和百度)处理其数据隐私和保护事宜,以及与网络安全相关的黑客攻击和数据泄露事宜。
    • 在中国开展业务的公司所涉及的重大专利与商标申请、执行与技术转让 ∕ 许可协议。
    • 在美国和中国进行的专利局审查决定、反对、专利无效诉讼和复审、反假冒、反盗版活动和专利及商标执行诉讼。
    • 代表研发和制造商处理技术转让、OEM合同、合营企业和战略合作伙伴关系等事宜。
    • 劳动合同、劳动法政策与典范、劳资纠纷以及相关的预防措施。
    • 代表董事或公司处理由审计委员会(由在美上市的中国公司组成)负责的独立调查及其他相关调查,其中包括在美国联邦地区法院进行的证券集体诉讼,以及可能由美国证券交易委员会(SEC)和美国司法部(DOJ)提起的调查或诉讼。
    • 协助社交媒体公司处理其在中国的内容审查、数据信息保密和保护以及云计算问题。
    • 代表跨国媒体和娱乐公司处理其在中国的法律、监管以及业务事宜(其中包括电影、电视、电子游戏、网络、主题公园、刊物以及其他相关产品)。

市场洞察

新闻

Orrick China IP team featured in a documentary film

Due to its success in patent disputes in both litigation and arbitration involving foreign companies in China, recently the Orrick China IP team was exclusively featured in a documentary film “Patent Wars” by the China Central Television (CCTV).

Dr. Xiang Wang is the Co-Chair of Orrick’s Global Advisory Board and Senior Partner for Asia and the head of Orrick’s China IP practice, splitting his time between three offices: Shanghai, New York and Beijing, where he is the Managing Partner.

Xiang has extensive experience in assisting local and foreign-based multinational companies with all aspects of their IP rights in the U.S., China and Asia, including IP litigation and arbitration, patent infringement, Section 337 U.S. International Trade Commission (ITC) investigations, patent office proceedings including inter partes reviews (IPR), IP due diligence and portfolio counseling, industrial espionage, trade secrets misappropriation, mass torts and product liability, securities litigation, the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act (FCPA), the Alien Tort Statute (ATCA) and the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO) investigations and compliance. These matters have implicated a vast array of technologies, from software and electronics to renewable energy and medical devices as well as agricultural and building materials, to name just a few. Xiang also works extensively on cybersecurity & data privacy issues for both Chinese and international clients.

Xiang has been particularly active in Chinese state-owned enterprises related U.S. litigation. Clients turn to his strategic and innovative advice thanks to the in-depth understanding of their business needs and political risks, and appreciate that he “understood the environment in the China legal system and can give nuanced advice”.

Xiang has developed the region’s premier IP practice based on his reputation as one of the few IP lawyers who has a doctorate in electrical and computer engineering, a Chinese Certificate of Laws and admission to practice law in New York, Indiana and before the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Due to its success in patent disputes in the U.S. and China, involving both foreign and Chinese companies, Orrick IP team was exclusively featured in a documentary film “Patent Wars” by the China Central Television (CCTV). 

Xiang is highly regarded for his practical legal advice that results from more than 10 years of experience at medical and electronic device businesses before becoming a lawyer. He also has received four U.S. medical-technology patents in his name. 

  • His practical industry experience includes the following.

    • Xiang has served as the managing director of Asian services for a U.S. medical technology consulting firm; a senior consultant and member of the Scientific Advisory Board of a U.S. medical device manufacturer; the executive director of R&D for a U.S. medical device manufacturer; the director of medical research for the department of surgery of a major U.S. hospital; a software engineer and system analyst for two major U.S. medical device manufacturers and a biomedical engineer for the Sino-Japanese Friendship Hospital in Beijing.

    Xiang is well recognized for his commitment to help guide the development and advancement of IP laws, regulations and cross-border relationships that affect companies doing business in the U.S. and China. He served as vice chair of the Intellectual Property Committee of the American Chamber of Commerce in Shanghai and as counsel for the R&D-based Pharmaceutical Association in China. Xiang also served as an adjunct professor of electrical and biomedical engineering at Drexel University in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

    In addition to being admitted in New York, Xiang was also admitted in Indiana (currently non-practicing).

    • Successfully defended China National Building Materials Group in a US$1.5 billion class action lawsuit filed in the US for alleged defective drywall building materials.
    • Defended Sinopec to dismiss a US$5.17 billion plus treble and punitive damages false imprisonment, misappropriation of property and RICO lawsuit in the U.S., a very complex and significant case which received a lot of attention from the press.
    • Successfully assisted China Institute of Atomic Energy in defending a product liability lawsuit filed in the U.S.
    • Successfully defended Microsoft in a series of patent infringement lawsuits brought by a Chinese patent troll for alleged infringement of certain Chinese patents by certain Microsoft products. 
    • Successfully assisted TPK Touch Solutions in its worldwide patent portfolio creation, prosecution and management as well as defending in a series of “bet the company” patent invalidation petitions before the China Patent Reexamination Board.
    • Successfully helped defend and obtain good outcome for key executives of Beijing DaBeiNong Technology Group in an industrial espionage case in the United States District Court of Southern District of Iowa.
    • Successfully defended Sinopec Lubricant in a TCPA lawsuit in the United States District Court of Northern District of Illinois.
    • Successfully defended Johnson Electric in a wrongful death product liability lawsuit in the Los Angeles Superior Court.
    • Successfully defended Baidu against a patent troll in the United States District Court for the Central District of California.
    • Successfully defended Haier and Hisense against patent trolls in the United States district courts.
    • Successfully represented Liugong Heavy Machinery in a trade dress dispute against a U.S. competitor.
    • Successfully defended BOE Technology Group in a patent troll infringement case in the United States District Court for the District of Massachusetts.
    • Successfully helped defend multiple Chinese respondents before the U.S. ITC 337 Investigations, laying ground for their future U.S. operations.
    • Assisted numerous multinational corporations including but not limited to Microsoft, CLS Bank and Baidu to handle their data privacy and protection issues, as well as cybersecurity related hacking and data breach issues.
    • Prosecution, enforcement and technology transfer/licensing arrangements for substantial patent and trademark portfolios for companies doing business in China.
    • Office actions, oppositions, patent invalidation proceedings and reexaminations, anti-counterfeiting, anti-piracy efforts, and patent and trademark enforcement litigation, both in the U.S. and China.
    • Technology transfer and OEM contracts, joint ventures and strategic partnerships for R&D and manufacturing.
    • Employment contracts, policies and best practices, labor disputes and preventive measures thereof.
    • Representing board directors or companies in connection with investigation by Audit Committee of U.S.-listed Chinese companies and other matters of investigation, including securities class action litigation in the United States District Court, and investigations or proceedings that may be initiated by the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) and Department of Justice (DOJ).
    • Assisting social media companies on censorship issues, data privacy and protection as well as cloud computing in China.
    • Representing media and entertainment multinational corporations in their legal, regulatory and business issues including film, TV programs, electronic games, Internet activities, theme parks, publication and related products in China.

Insights

News