EEO Statement

Current Statement of Policy on
Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action

It is the policy of Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP to provide equal employment opportunity to all employees and applicants for employment and to comply with all applicable federal, state and local laws.  This Policy covers all aspects of employment including:  recruitment, hiring, promotion, compensation, training, discipline, termination and other terms and conditions of employment.  The Policy applies to all qualified employees and applicants for employment without regard to race, color, religion, creed, sex (including pregnancy), gender (including gender identity and expression), sexual orientation, national origin, ancestry, citizenship status, age, marital status, genetic information, physical or mental disability, medical condition, veteran status and all other categories protected by federal, state or local laws, ordinances or regulations.  Orrick will also undertake, through affirmative action efforts, to increase employment opportunities for minorities, women, veterans and individuals with disabilities. 

Orrick also has an audit and reporting system that tracks and measures the effectiveness of Orrick’s affirmative action program and shows where additional action is needed to meet Orrick’s objectives.  Additionally, Orrick ensures that all employment decisions are based only on valid job requirements.

Orrick will not discharge or in any other manner discriminate against employees or applicants because they have inquired about, discussed, or disclosed their own pay or the pay of another employee or applicant. However, employees who have access to the compensation information of other employees or applicants as a part of their essential job functions cannot disclose the pay of other employees or applicants to individuals who do not otherwise have access to compensation information, unless the disclosure is (a) in response to a formal complaint or charge, (b) in furtherance of an investigation, proceeding, hearing, or action, including an investigation conducted by the employer, or (c) consistent with Orrick’s legal duty to furnish information.

Employees and applicants shall not be subjected to harassment, intimidation, threats, coercion or discrimination because they have engaged in or may engage in any of the following activities:

  1. The filing of a complaint;
  2. Assisting or participating in an investigation, compliance evaluation, hearing or any other activity related to the administration of the affirmative action provisions of Executive Order 11246, the Vietnam Era Veterans’ Readjustment Assistant Act of 1974, as amended, 38 U.S.C. 4212 (“VEVRAA”), or section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, (29 U.S.C. 793) (“Section 503”), or any other Federal, state, or local law requiring equal employment opportunity;
  3. Opposing any act or practice made unlawful by Executive Order 11246, VEVRAA, Section 503, or their implementing regulations, or any other Federal, state, or local law requiring equal employment opportunity; or
  4. Exercising any other right protected by Executive Order 11246, VEVRAA, Section 503, or their implementing regulations.

Gary R. Siniscalco has been designated as the firm's Equal Employment Opportunity/Affirmative Action Officer (EEO Officer).  His address and telephone number are as follows:

Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
The Orrick Building, 405 Howard Street, 10th Floor, San Francisco, California  94105-2669
Telephone:  (415) 773-5700         Facsimile:  (415) 773-5759

This policy and Orrick’s affirmative action program are supported by Orrick’s Management Committee and Board of Directors, including Orrick’s Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Mitchell Zuklie.

The plan narratives are available for review by US employees in the office of their Office Administrator during normal business hours.

This Policy, which is also part of the firm's affirmative action plan, is revised annually.  This statement contains our current policy and shall remain in effect January 1 through December 31, 2024.



Mitchell Zuklie, Chairman